10/22/20: Pearson VUE's online proctoring program, OnVUE, is now available for Florida candidates.
1. Complete a Prelicensing Course with Exam FX
If you would like to sell insurance in Florida, you must complete an approved line of prelicensing education and pass the state licensing exam.
When you satisfy the requirements for your course, you will receive a Certificate of Completion. Prelicensing education is valid for four years from the date of completion; you will need to take and pass your state exam within this timeframe. Only 5 exam attempts for the same exam type within a 12 month period are allowed.
Course certification exams may be taken without a proctor provided that the student presents a sworn affidavit certifying that no written materials were consulted and no outside assistance of any kind was received from any person during the exam.
Candidates are required to have access to the state-required study manuals, as the state licensing examinations will be based upon the latest edition of the approved study manual.
Contact information for the study manual vendors is available at: https:www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents/Licensure/Examinations/studyManuals.htm
2. Pass a Licensing Exam
Making Exam Reservations
Licensing exams are provided by Pearson VUE. An exam fee must be paid at the time of reservation by credit card, debit card, voucher, or electronic check. You can make an exam reservation through the following methods:
· Online: Make an online reservation at http://www.pearsonvue.com/fl/insurance at least 24 hours before the desired exam date or 5 days in advance if paying by electronic check
· Phone: (888) 274-2020
o Before you call, you must have the following:
-Legal name, address, Social Security number, daytime phone number, and date of birth
-Name of the exam
-Preferred exam date and test center location
What to Bring
Two forms of current signature identification:
· A primary ID (photograph and signature, not expired) such as a Driver’s License or Passport
· A secondary ID (signature, not expired) such as a Debit or Credit card
You will not be required to supply a copy of your Certificate of Completion at the exam.
· Report to the test center 30 minutes before the exam to verify identification and be photographed for the score report.
· No personal items are allowed in the testing room such as cell phones, watches, wallets, or purses.
· Studying is not allowed in the test center.
· The test administrator will provide you with materials to make notes or calculations. You may not write on these items before the exam begins or remove these items from the testing room.
· You will have the opportunity to take a tutorial that will not reduce the exam time.
· Each major line exam is given in a multiple-choice format.
· The exam consists of two parts:
1. The general section deals with basic insurance product knowledge
2. The state section deals with insurance laws, rules, and regulations, and practices that are unique to Florida
· Each exam contains “pretest” questions that are mixed in with the scored questions and are not identified. Pretest questions may not be covered in your educational materials and do not affect your final score!
· The passing score required on each exam is 70%.
· When you complete the exam, you will receive a score report marked “pass or fail”.
· Candidates who fail will receive a score report that includes a numeric score, diagnostic, and re-testing information.
· Candidates who do not pass can schedule the exam again with no waiting period.
3. Get Fingerprinted
You can register, find locations, and pay for fingerprinting by visiting www.L1enrollment.com/FLInsurance or by calling 1-800-528-1358.
For additional information on fingerprinting, go to https://www.myfloridacfo.com/division/agents/Licensure/Agents-Adjusters/fingerprinting.htm
4. Apply for a License
After passing the exam and getting fingerprinted, you can apply for your license by completing an application at http://www.myfloridacfo.com/Division/Agents/Licensure. If you fail to complete the licensing process within one year, you will be required to retake and pass the exam.